top of page

What is integrity?


So the dictionary standard of integrity is "the quality of being honest and having strong moral principles; moral uprightness" or "the state of being whole and undivided".

Synonyms include: Honesty, Honor, Righteousness, Virtue, Decency, Fairness, Sincerity, etc.

Lately the word "INTEGRITY" has been popping up in my day to day life and it got me to thinking.

Do people think that I am a person of integrity? Do people think, "That Rachel girl, she's honorable, she's virtuous, she's righteous"? I know there are people out there who think I'm religious. But do they think I have integrity? More importantly does GOD think I have integrity?

The word integrity stems from the Latin word "integer" which means "whole" or "complete". This leads me to think that integrity is more about consistency and completeness of character, more so than what I do in one given moment. Integrity is a lifestyle!

Do I live a lifestyle of integrity? Am I consistently honest and fair? Am I completely trustworthy?

WOW! This is heavy stuff.

Maybe it would be better to start with the small things and do some inner searching.

Do I tell the truth?

Do I cheat or steal?

Do I gossip?

Do I hold bitterness and grudges?

Do I guard my mouth or speak profanity?

Do I act for others or with a selfish motive?

Am I sincere or two-faced?

Am I lazy?

Proverbs 10:9

Whoever walks in integrity walks securely, but he who makes his ways crooked will be found out.

Proverbs 28:6

Better is a poor man who walks in his integrity than a rich man who is crooked in his ways.

Proverbs 11:3

The integrity of the upright guides them, but the crookedness of the treacherous destroys them.

2 Corinthians 8:21

For we aim at what is honorable not only in the Lord's sight but also in the sight of man.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page