top of page

I know what you promised me God.


Yesterday in church, my pastor was talking about Jesus praying before he was arrested and taken to be beaten and crucified. He (my pastor) made a statement that hasn't left my mind since. He said, paraphrasing John 17, that Jesus was saying "Father, I know what you have promised me, so I'm going through with the task in front of me in unbroken faith."

I feel like saying, "hey God, you promised me!" and then I hear my own petulant voice, as though God owes me something.

Jesus wasn't yelling at God for going back on a promise, Jesus was praising Him that through the hardship and beatings and nakedness and death and COMPLETE separation from his Father, the promise was going to be fulfilled.

So God, I know what you have called me to, and I'm not thrilled with how the process is going, but I need the Holy Spirit to strengthen me to unyielding faith.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page