top of page

Whoa.


How do you describe seeing the will of God in action? How do you explain to someone that your purpose is simultaneously clearer and more complex?

I went to Costa Rica hoping to answer this question "What does God want me to do here?"

My question was not only answered but expounded upon.

Sunday night I went to a church service, in the heart of the city, with Melissa. It's called Casa Agape and it's a bi-weekly service for anyone and everyone to come and hear the gospel, have some coffee and a light meal.

Upon entering, we met a man, he seemed shy so we sat down beside him and introduced ourselves. In our conversation through the night we learned that he was living with his sister and that he was currently attending school. When I asked how he found Casa Agape, he said "They found me." It struck me as odd at first but then it clicked in my mind that he was one of those for whom this church existed. I probed a bit further, trying desperately to not overstep the unspoken rules of prying. I asked him, "What made you decide to come to the church?" He told me that he didn't believe that God would ever want him or ever want to save him. He said that he didn't believe that God would ever meet him where he was, working on the street and taking drugs. As he spoke, the biggest smile rose over his face.

Here it was. Proof that God is alive and well and working in the streets of Costa Rica. These are the lives and souls I have been burdened for. In that very moment I knew, that my calling is real, that God wants me in Costa Rica, that there is work to be done and that I am a part of God's plan for San Jose.

How do I describe seeing the will of God in action? - Whoa.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page